Stamp-A-Faire 2012: DIY

There were so many fantastic ideas for the homemade embellishments tutorials challenge that I couldn’t pick just one – it was another ribbon moment, relived. I created some homemade washi tape using the tutorial Danielle Flanders made, but I haven’t yet put them on a card. They are currently in a time out under a heavy stack trying to straighten out their behavior. 😉 More on them later.

I happen to swoon for rosettes. Total foot-popping, heart soaring, swoon. As it happens, Betsy Veldman must have had me in mind because she created a tutorial on making a homemade rosette from a doily die. A doily die?!? Yes, you and I both heard right. A doily die. I’d never used one to make a rosette before either, but as it turns out, it makes it very pretty! And as it so happens, I’d recently gotten my hands on some utterly beautiful doily dies that I suppose I was destined to put to good use today.

The die that I used had pretty wide spaced scalloping around the edge, so the rosette came out pretty fat – too fat for a card to my way of thinking. To remedy that issue, I took a 6×6 pattern paper pad, splayed my palm over it, and crushed that little rosette into submission. The result was a very pretty looking, much flatter and more appropriate for a card rosette. The colors weren’t what I envisioned when I started with that purple paper. I pictured bright and cheerful in my mind. It’s a little more muted this way and less my-comfort-zone, so I kept adding little touches until it looked/felt right.

Signature Splatter

Quotes Engravers MTSUPPLIES:
Stamps: Rosie Posie, Modern Wood Mats (Papertrey Ink)
Cardstock: Kraft, Vintage Cream (inside), Ocean Tides (Papertrey Ink)
Paper: Dot Pattern (K & Company); Pattern Pad (Studio G)
Ink: Ocean Tides, Vintage Cream, Classic Kraft (Papertrey Ink)
Dies: English Tea Party Doily (Cherry Lynn Designs)
Accents: Ocean Tides, Plum Pudding, Vintage Cream, & White buttons (Papertrey Ink); Botanica ribbon (Michaels); Natural Cotton Twine

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

