Stamp-A-Faire 2012: Knots Badge

The Knots Badge included tutorials encompassing ribbon techniques and tips. I was really looking forward to this lesson because I absolutely love me some ribbon! I find ribbon very flirty and girly and fun, so I’m all over that. The problems arise when I can’t stop staring at it long enough to figure out how to incorporate it into my project. I try. Diligently. I just fail. Repeatedly. But no more! Now, armed with these versatile and broad techniques, I can feel confident tackling the application of ribbon onto my cards!

Did I just sound like a cheesy commercial sales pitch? Because it sounded like I just sounded like a cheesy commercial sales pitch.  …

I was so impressed with all the wonderful ideas, that I tried more than one for this challenge. The first one I tackled was Erin Lincoln’s idea to back a negative die cut image with ribbon strips to create a colorful pattern in the die image. She made a beautiful pink ombre hued tiered cake in her card. I immediately thought how cute it would it be to do it using the clouds die.

It may be hard to see in the photos, but I gave the sky a beautiful pearled sheen with some Tattered Angel’s Glimmer Mist. When I first started assembling it, I wasn’t diggin’ the plain white and thought it needed just a little something, but not too much of something because I didn’t want to detract from the scene in the sky. I rarely find myself using Glimmer Mist (I only have two shades), but in this case, it gave the sky the absolutely perfect touch!

Quotes Engravers MTSUPPLIES:
Stamps: Up, Up, & Away (Papertrey Ink)
Cardstock: Stamper’s Select White (Papertrey Ink); Bermuda Bay (Stampin’ Up!)
Paper: Patterned Paper Pad (Studio G)
Ink: Jet Black (Staz On), Enchanted Evening (Papertrey Ink)
Dies: Up, Up, & Away, Clouds, Doubled Ended Banner (Papertrey Ink)
Accents: Dots & Stripes Ribbon (Michaels), Pearl Glimmer Mist (Tattered Angels)
Tools: Arrow Border Edger Punch (EK Success)

Divider Wayward Heart

The other technique I really wanted to try was Dawn McVey’s basic bow & basic knot. While this may sound simple, she ties some of the most gorgeous bows I’ve ever seen & getting it just right is a lot more challenging that it may seem. In fact, after giving it a try, I can safely say my hands & fingers are going to need a lot of practice!

Signature Splatter

Quotes Engravers MTSUPPLIES:
Stamps: Simply Jane (Papertrey Ink)
Cardstock: Kraft, Vintage Cream, Chipboard (Papertrey Ink)
Ink: Winter Wisteria, Smokey Shadow, Fine Linen (Papertrey Ink)
Dies: Simply Jane, Quatrefoil Plate (Papertrey Ink)
Accents: Plum Pudding buttons (Papertrey Ink); Celebrate It Basic-Basic satin ribbon (Michaels); Hematite Glitter Glue (Martha Stewart); Natural Cotton Twine

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

